Holy Cross School Honors Outstanding Educators for the 2023-2024 Academic Year

New Orleans, LA (May 24, 2024): Holy Cross School proudly announces its outstanding educators for the 2023-2024 academic year. These dedicated professionals have fostered a love of learning, inspired their students, and made significant contributions to the school community. These candidates were selected based on the outlined criteria from the Louisiana Department of Education.

  • Upper School Teacher of the Year: Michael Arvites ‘04 Mr. Arvites, a Holy Cross alumnus who returned to teach in 2009, is a passionate social studies educator known for his engaging instruction and dedication to student success. He teaches World History and Honors, AP World History, AP European History, and World War II Honors. Beyond the classroom, Mr. Arvites serves as chair of the social studies department, a technology coach, and previously helped coach the basketball team. He holds a B.G.S. in history and journalism from the University of New Orleans (UNO) and an M.Ed. in Educational Leadership from Louisiana State University Shreveport (LSUS). Mr. Arvites champions the World War II History Honors course at Holy Cross, which includes weekly visits to the National Museum. He also incorporates several international trips and encourages students to engage in podcasting to enhance their learning experience. He has led several students through the prestigious Albert H. Small Normandy Institute program facilitated by The George Washington University. He was recently named a WVUE Golden Apple Award recipient. When asked about his teaching practices a colleague stated “Michael Arvites has a passion for history, and this is apparent to all those who enter his classroom.  He is also a lifelong learner and exudes enthusiasm for his subject matter.  The students appreciate his blunt, realistic take on the world, and his colleagues appreciate his perspective as well as his love of Holy Cross.  I can’t wait for my son to take his World War II class.  He has longed deserved a recognition like this!”


  • Lower School Teacher of the Year: Lisa Englert Ms. Englert, who joined Holy Cross in 2015, is a leader in educational technology and STEM education. As a Project Lead the Way Master Teacher (grades 5-7), Ms. Englert ignites a love of science and engineering in young learners. Her additional responsibilities include PK-4 robotics coach and educational technologist. Ms. Englert holds a B.S. in elementary education from Louisiana State University (LSU) and an M.Ed. from LSU. Her colleague Dr. Katherine Schilling proclaimed “Lisa Englert is a wonderful colleague, who loves teaching her students how to evaluate real-world problems and brainstorm solutions.  She is not only a well-trained teacher but also a wonderful collaborator and a lifelong learner. Her work with Project Lead the Way is invaluable to Holy Cross.  Lisa deserves this recognition, and I am proud to work with her.  I also feel blessed that she was my son’s teacher for 2 years.”


  • New Teacher of the Year: Laura DeHart Ms. DeHart brings her enthusiasm for mathematics to Holy Cross in her first year of teaching. She challenges and inspires students in Algebra II and Algebra I Honors. Ms. DeHart holds a B.S. in psychology from LSU and an M.A.T. in secondary education and mathematics from LSU. When asked about her work Dale Turner, Math Department head said “We are so blessed to have Laura DeHart as the newest addition to the Holy Cross math department.  With her infectious enthusiasm and creative teaching style, she's not just making waves in the classroom, but inspiring everyone around her.”


  • Assistant Principal of the Year: Anne Chabreck Mrs. Chabreck, a dedicated leader and accomplished English teacher, is the recipient of the Assistant Principal of the Year award. Mrs. Chabreck boasts a wide range of teaching experience, including English 5, 7 & 7 Accelerated, Honors Scholars courses, AP Language and Composition, and AP Seminar and Research. Beyond the classroom, Mrs. Chabreck has served as chair of the English department (2011-2022), and chair of the academic council (2021-present), and currently holds the position of director of curriculum and instruction. She holds a B.M. in music and English from Loyola New Orleans, an M.M. in performance from LSU, and an M.Ed. in curriculum and instruction + reading specialist from LSUS. Mrs. Chabreck holds AP certifications in Language, Literature, Seminar, and Research. Fellow teacher Katelyn Aquilo noted “Anne Chabreck is a very special educator. She cares about her students' success more than anyone on campus, and she has brought this care and concern with her as an administrator. Anne is actively working to promote academic change on our campus, and it shows. We are very blessed to have someone like her advocating for teacher and student growth.”


We are incredibly fortunate to have such a talented and dedicated faculty at Holy Cross. These award winners exemplify the commitment to excellence that defines our educators. Their passion for teaching and their genuine care for students make a profound difference in the lives of our young learners. They truly exemplify our mission of “Educating the Whole Man: Mind and Heart, Body and Soul.”

Holy Cross School is an independent, Catholic, college preparatory school founded in 1849 by the Congregation of Holy Cross to educate young men in the greater New Orleans community. Holy Cross is fully approved by the Louisiana State Department of Education and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools as a college preparatory school for boys in grades PK-12.