Honor Societies Recognize Students and Faculty with Tiger Pride Awards

During the month of April the Holy Cross Chapters of the National Junior Honor Society and the National Honor Society hosted Tiger Pride Month, focusing on spreading compassion and kindness to others. Each week we focused on and celebrated various parts of Holy Cross: our school, community, students, faculty, and staff.

The first week showed our love and appreciation for the Holy Cross Students. Boys from Pre-K through 12th grade received a Tiger Pride pencil, a Krispy Kreme donut during homeroom, freezies at lunch, and a dress down day.

The second week the focus was shifted to our community. In an effort to help those around us, Holy Cross hosted “Paws for a Cause.” Each primary grade level and middle and high school homeroom collected money for our furry friends at Animal Rescue New Orleans, best known as ARNO. Our students raised $2,500 that will be instrumental in aiding this wonderful non-profit animal shelter. Our collection challenge created a friendly competition among our tigers. Our largest collection came from Ms. Danielle and Ms. S’s 1st grade class with a total of $411.17.

The third week celebrated Holy Cross faculty and staff. Thanks to our supportive Parents Advancement Council, or PAC, the teachers received various surprises on each campus every day including breakfast, lunch, flowers, and a crawfish boil.

As Tiger Pride Month comes to a close, we honored a student from each grade level and a primary, middle and high school teacher, as well as two staff, who exemplify Tiger Pride. Students, faculty, and staff were able to cast their votes to honor those people who they felt show kindness, compassion, and love to others daily.

Primary school faculty: Marissa Sorrentino

Middle school faculty: Justin Toepfer

High School faculty: Natalie Garrett

Staff: Ms. Dixie Crayton and Mr. Sean Martin

PK: Grady Hereford

K: Daniel Scott

1st: Ethan Whatley

2nd: Nash Adams

3rd: Noah Donnelly

4th: Rocco Fernandez

5th: Matthew Krail

6th: Gunner Guidry

7th: Brock Lewis

8th: Lathan Naquin

9th: Kendall Harrison

10th: Maximilien Caffery

11th: Colin Clement

12th: Colin Doody


Photo Gallery: